Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday: The Death Cure

The Death Cure (Maze Runner #3)
By James Dashner

Release Date: October 11, 2011


Summary from Goodreads:
Thomas knows that Wicked can't be trusted, but they say the time for lies is over, that they've collected all they can from the Trials and now must rely on the Gladers, with full memories restored, to help them with their ultimate mission. It's up to the Gladers to complete the blueprint for the cure to the Flare with a final voluntary test.

What Wicked doesn't know is that something's happened that no Trial or Variable could have foreseen. Thomas has remembered far more than they think. And he knows that he can't believe a word of what Wicked says.

The time for lies is over. But the truth is more dangerous than Thomas could ever imagine.
Will anyone survive the Death Cure?



Why I'm Excited:

It's the last one! We finally get to find out what happens!

Wednesday, August 24, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday: Fury


Fury
By Elizabeth Miles
Release Date: August 30, 2011 (less than a week!)

Goodreads Summary:

Sometimes sorry isn't enough....

It’s winter break in Ascension, Maine. The snow is falling and everything looks pristine and peaceful. But not all is as it seems...

Between cozy traditions and parties with her friends, Emily loves the holidays. And this year’s even better--the guy she’s been into for months is finally noticing her. But Em knows if she starts things with him, there’s no turning back. Because his girlfriend is Em’s best friend.

On the other side of town, Chase is having problems of his own. The stress of his home life is starting to take its toll, and his social life is unraveling. But that’s nothing compared to what’s really haunting him. Chase has done something cruel...something the perfect guy he pretends to be would never do. And it’s only a matter of time before he’s exposed.

In Ascension, mistakes can be deadly. And three girls—three beautiful, mysterious girls—are here to choose who will pay.

Em and Chase have been chosen. "Achingly gorgeous. Fury seduced me."--Lauren Kate, New York Times bestselling author of Fallen "A fresh dark twist on paranormal, with surprises around every corner. FURY kept me up all night!" --Nancy Holder, NYT Bestselling Author of WICKED and CRUSADE

Why I'm Excited:

I loooooove books that have ancient mythologies in them, and this one is loosely based off of the Furies--something I haven't seen popping up in most YA. I'm excited for what (I hope) will be an interesting and intriguing story. It's interesting to see the reviews on Goodreads--they seem pretty polarized--but I want to read this one for myself to find out!

Wednesday, August 17, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday: Crossed



Crossed (Matched #2)

By Ally Condie

Release Date: November 1, 2011

Summary from Goodreads:

In search of a future that may not exist and faced with the decision of who to share it with, Cassia journeys to the Outer Provinces in pursuit of Ky — taken by the Society to his certain death — only to find that he has escaped, leaving a series of clues in his wake.

Cassia’s quest leads her to question much of what she holds dear, even as she finds glimmers of a different life across the border. But as Cassia nears resolve and certainty about her future with Ky, an invitation for rebellion, an unexpected betrayal, and a surprise visit from Xander — who may hold the key to the uprising and, still, to Cassia’s heart — change the game once again. Nothing is as expected on the edge of Society, where crosses and double crosses make the path more twisted than ever.

Why I'm Excited:

I was thrilled when I heard that there was going to be a second book to Matched! As many of us know, Matched was a heart-stopping story that was a definite page-turner. Lots of today’s books involve that all-too-familiar love triangle, but few stories actually pull it off. I am so excited to see what is going to happen between Ky, Cassia and Xander. I love the cover of the book as well, it seems to be the perfect representation of Cassia finally “breaking out of her bubble.” But what will she find on the outside? Can’t wait for it to come out in November!



Thursday, August 11, 2011

Wither as a Movie?

I had brunch with a friend of mine the other day, and as we were catching up, we started talking about movies we were both looking forward to (The Help and One Day, to name a few) and she mentioned a movie I had never heard of before starring Justin Timberlake.

"It's so cool!" she said. "It takes place in the future, and everyone dies at 25."

Cool idea, I thought to myself. But it sounded a little familiar...where had I heard that before...

"And there's these rich people, who, like have lots of wives and try to live forever."

Sure, she wasn't being super specific, but I had to jump in because I was excited. I had totally read this book!

"Are you talking about Wither? They're making that into a movie already?"

It seemed to fit--people dying at the age 0f 25, multiple wives, rich people...I mean, Hollywood wouldn't rip off ideas that blatantly would they?


She looked at me, a little confused. "I don't know. It's called something with "time." And it has Justin Timberlake." (She really likes Justin Timberlake)

Well, it turns out that she was not talking about a movie adaptation of Wither, but the movie In Time, that comes out on October 28, 2011.

After watching the trailer, I don't think it looks like a rip-off of Wither, even though they do share some similarities. (Oh, and I'm not sure where she got the multiple wives part...I didn't see that in the trailer.) It also reminds me a little bit of the premise of Numbers (or Num8ers), but I haven't actually read Numbers, so I can't really say.


What do you guys think of the trailer? Does it remind you of any books you've read recently?


Wednesday, August 10, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday: Lola and the Boy Next Door

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted be Breaking the Spine to highlight upcoming releases.

Lola and the Boy Next Door

by Stephanie Perkins

Release Date: September 29, 2011

Goodreads Summary-

For budding costume designer Lola Nolan, the more outrageous, the outfit—more sparkly, more fun, more wild—the better. But even though Lola’s style is outrageous, she’s a devoted daughter and friend with some big plans for the future. And everything is pretty perfect (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the dreaded Bell twins move back into the house next door.

When the family returns and Cricket—a gifted inventor and engineer—steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

Why I Can't Wait-

I’m excited because this is a companion novel to Anna and the French Kiss. I absolutely fell in love with that one. I really like Stephanie’s writing; it makes it seem much more realistic with her telling actual faults about the characters. You can relate to it more. If Lola and the Boy Next Door is as good as Anna and the French Kiss, then we’re in for another romantic comedy that’s a hit! September won't come fast enough!

Tuesday, August 9, 2011

Dark Secrets Review

Legacy of Lies & Don’t Tell (Dark Secrets #1)

Author: Elizabeth Chandler

Pages: 496

Release date: August 4, 2009

Genre: Mystery

Summary from Goodreads:

Two girls haunted by the past...and destined to relive it

In Legacy of Lies, Megan has to stay with the uptight grandmother she wants nothing to do with. She's determined to get through the visit without any drama, but when she falls into a twisted love triangle with potentially fatal consequences, Megan may be caught up in her family's legacy in more ways than she realizes.

In Don't Tell, Lauren knows that by returning to the town where her mother drowned seven years ago, she'll be reliving one of her most haunting memories. When she arrives, she is propelled into a series of mysterious events that mimic the days leading up to her mother's death. Maybe her mother's drowning wasn't an accident after all...and maybe Lauren is next.”

My Review:

I loved this book. It was well written and enthralling. The author is so good at keeping you on the edge of your seat. You are constantly left wondering what will happen next. You can never predict anything until it actually happens. I loved every page. I never lost interest and the plot stayed on a steady, understandable, and fascinating course. I have read other books by Chandler and they were all fantastic, but this book surpasses even them.

The characters were very well developed. By the end of the book, I really felt like I knew each one. They felt so real, like people you would wave at as you walked down the street. The main character, Megan, is spirited and strong. I never got bored with her and she always kept me turning pages. However, Megan’s gorgeous cousin, Matt, was the one who kept me checking ahead in the book to see when he would come back. To be fair, I must warn that others who I have spoken to about this book thought that it was a little bit too weird for their taste. Regardless, I enjoyed it so much that it is now one of my favorite books.

Rating:


Monday, August 8, 2011

Summer Giveaway Hop WINNER!


Wow. Just, wow.

A big thank you to all our new followers--I'm so excited to see our numbers double from what they were! I hope you'll stick around, because we have some great things planned for the beginning of the school year, and I think a 500 Follower giveaway is just around the corner... (Seriously?! I'm in awe. You guys are AMAZING!)

With 449 entries to choose from, the great random.org chose....

#49 Evk

Congrats! I will be emailing you shortly. Winners have 48 hours to confirm before a new winner is chosen.


Thanks again for entering everyone!

Sunday, August 7, 2011

Summer Giveaway Hop [closed]

***This is a sticky post. Newer posts will appear below.***


This hop is hosted by Kathy over at I Am a Reader, Not a Writer and Mary over at Bookhounds.

This is our first giveaway here at Westlake Book Reviews, so we're going to make things simple.

Up for grabs is a $10 giftcard to amazon.com --OR-- a book that is $10 or less from the Book Depository!


TO ENTER:
* You MUST be a GFC Follower
*You MUST fill out the form below--comments are appreciated but do not count as entries.
+1 for following @westlakebooks on twitter

Winners will be selected by random.org and announced on August 8.

Thanks for stopping by and have fun on the rest of the hop! You're almost done!



Thursday, August 4, 2011

Giveaway at LC's

LC's 500

Head on over to LC's Adventure's in Library Land for her 500 follower giveaway! She is giving away some awesome titles! Here is what you can choose from:


Or, you could not enter, so that I have a better chance at winning :)

Wednesday, August 3, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday: The Power of Six

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine to highlight upcoming releases.

The Power of Six
by Pittacus Lore


Release Date: August 23, 2011

Goodreads Summary-

I've seen him on the news. Followed the stories about what happened in Ohio. John Smith, out there, on the run. To the world, he's a mystery. But to me . . . he's one of us.

Nine of us came here, but sometimes I wonder if time has changed us—if we all still believe in our mission. How can I know? There are six of us left. We're hiding, blending in, avoiding contact with one another . . . but our Legacies are developing, and soon we'll be equipped to fight. Is John Number Four, and is his appearance the sign I've been waiting for? And what about Number Five and Six? Could one of them be the raven-haired girl with the stormy eyes from my dreams? The girl with powers that are beyond anything I could ever imagine? The girl who may be strong enough to bring the six of us together?

They caught Number One in Malaysia.
Number Two in England.
And Number Three in Kenya.
They tried to catch Number Four in Ohio—and failed.
I am Number Seven. One of six still alive.
And I'm ready to fight.

Why I'm Excited-

I am really excited to read this book. I have seen the movie of I Am Number Four and based on the movie I am excited to learn more from this book. It might even be a glimpse for the next movie that they are obviously going to do. Waiting is going to be very hard. I am considering pre-ordering it.